UPDATE: Chair announced for new RWM Advisory Council

i Feb 10th 3 Comments by

Radioactive Waste Management (RWM), the appointed GDF delivery body, have now announced the full membership of their new Advisory Council.  The Advisory Council is designed to support RWM by providing broad-based expertise, a balanced perspective, and strategic direction, as the GDF siting programme moves towards its launch phase.  Members include:

  • Lorraine Baldry OBE (Chair)
  • Norman Harrison (Deputy Chair)
  • Sonia Davidson-Grant
  • Dai Hudd
  • John Markham OBE
  • Dr Mike Naylor
  • Michael Prescott
  • Howard Shiplee CBE
  • Morag Stuart
  • Eugenie Turton CB
  • Robert Upton CBE

Panel members’ short biographies:
Lorraine Baldry OBE (Chair) has experience in a wide range of industries including technology, broadcasting, distribution, healthcare, water, real estate and financial services. She has held a number of Board-level positions and is currently Chairman of London and Continental Railways, Schroder Real Estate Investment Trust, Inventa Partners, and Hydroxyl Technologies.

Norman Harrison (Deputy Chair) has held a number of senior roles in the UK nuclear industry including CEO of the UK Atomic Energy Authority (UKAEA) and when with British Energy, Station Director at Heysham and Sizewell B nuclear power stations. He currently has a portfolio of non-executive and advisory appointments including the UKAEA (Fusion programme) and is Deputy Chair of the Board of Governors at Manchester Metropolitan University.

Sonia Davidson-Grant is an experienced Director, Non-Executive Director and Board Member of private and public sector organisations, an international researcher and a strategic advisor to governments in the UK and the Middle East.

Dai Hudd has spent his career as a trade union official. He is currently Deputy General Secretary of the Prospect trade union and also holds lead policy responsibility for the energy services industry.

John Markham OBE had a distinguished career in the chemical industry, holding a range of executive management positions, before moving into regeneration where he has held a number of senior roles in the public and private sectors.

Dr Mike Naylor has had a long career in the oil and gas industry, rising through Shell to become Vice President Technical, Global Exploration. He has wide-ranging experience in developing technical standards, processes and execution of major capital projects and brings a deep expertise and understanding of sub-surface evaluation and risk assessment.

Michael Prescott is an experienced communications professional with a proven track record of building and motivating teams to award-winning standard, and managing in high-pressure environments. His previous employment includes roles as Director of Corporate Affairs at British Telecom, Managing Director Corporate Comms and Public Affairs at Weber Shandwick, and Political Editor at The Sunday Times. Michael is a Trustee of Bloodwise and a former member of the Government Communications Board.

Howard Shiplee CBE is a recognised construction industry professional with extensive experience in the delivery of high value infrastructure projects, including as Project Director Hong Kong International Airport Terminal and as Director of Construction for the Olympic Delivery Authority.

Morag Stuart has held various senior roles working in the defence and aerospace industries and is currently Director of Commercial Improvement at Defence Equipment and Support, part of the Ministry of Defence. Morag also sits on a Procurement Advisory panel for HS2 Ltd.

Eugenie Turton CB is a former senior government servant who now works as a Non-Executive Director in the private and charitable sectors. Previously Eugenie was Director General for Housing and Planning, responsible for the government’s public service improvement programme, and creation of London’s new mayoral government.

Robert Upton CBE has held positions as Director of Planning in Hong Kong, Chief Executive of Rushmoor Borough Council, Secretary General of the Royal Town Planning Institute, Deputy Chair of the Infrastructure Planning Commission and subsequently Senior Examining Inspector for major infrastructure at the Planning Inspectorate.

Update of original news (below)


Radioactive Waste Management (RWM) have announced the appointment of Lorraine Baldry OBE as Chair of their new Advisory Council.

According to RWM, “the Advisory Council will provide expertise, balanced perspective and strategic support to RWM as it moves into a significant phase of its programme to deliver a geological disposal facility. Its members, including experienced leaders from a variety of business, engineering, infrastructure and society backgrounds, will provide vital input to one of the most complex and important long-term projects ever undertaken in the UK.”

Lorraine Baldry hails from the Financial Services sector, and is also currently:

  • Chair of the Central London Partnership, a non-profit organisation that focuses on improving the working environment in central London
  • Chair of London & Continental Railways Limited, a property development and land regeneration business within the railway and infrastructure sectors
  • Chair of Schroder Real Estate Investment Trust Limited
  • Independent Non-Executive Director at Thames Water

She is an Honorary Member of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors (RICS), a Past President of the British Property Federation, and was previously Chairman of the London Thames Gateway Development Corporation.

RWM have not yet published the full membership, Terms of Reference, or objectives of the Advisory Council, but this expected shortly.  RWM have previously said that their Technical Advisory Panel (TAP) would be subsumed within this new expert advisory group.


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.